How do we save Netrunner?

Yes, the thread title is a bit hyperbolic, but I’m not sure how much.

I started playing Netrunner in October 2016. Over that time, I’ve seen the game shrink quite a bit in terms of active player base in store-level and more competitive events.

What can players do at a local level to help reverse this trend?

(I’m aware that FFG is the entity that can have the most positive impact, but since FFG does not comment on this forum I am leaving it out of the topic.)

1 Like

Be active in building your community. Organize a lot of interesting, non-FFG tournament events, make word of mouth recommendations to people you know, learn to teach it quickly and without overwhelming the player.

3 Likes

I’m not 100% sold on this FFG has the biggest impact.
What can they do? They can create a healthy game, but can they create a local community? Nice events? Nice people?

I think it’s on us and on the shops.

We are not MtG so they player base will always be small and more fragile.

1 Like

They could stop cannibalizing the playerbase with new LCGs every other year.

18 Likes

The thing I am most surprised about is that there is no intro version of the game.

Netrunner is most fun when played with cool decks that match against each other well. If FF released two cheap constructed decks that that matched up pretty well and contained cards that avoided stuff like trace and bad pub, you would have a 15 dollar product that you could give to a magic player and in no time they would be hooked. Beyoken’s dueling decks are really inspired options to consider for something like this.