I felt I had to share why the game meant so much to me and did a small video

I’m kind of heartbroken. Ths is a game that has meant so much to me on so many levels that the cancellation news hit me hard. I always thought it would always be there, waiting for me to come back after such busy times and now it’s cancelled and dissapearing. And I’m sad. And I wanted to share with everyone why this game has mattered so much to me and to others.So I’ve done something I’ve never done before, I went and recorded a video.

14 Likes

It’s pretty amazing how a game about distopia, greed, violence, and crime nutured one of the friendliest, welcoming, and egalitarian gaming communities ever.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, brother Runner.

5 Likes

Thank you for sharing your thoughts–I feel connected to so much of what you are saying.

2 Likes

I recognise your avatar from BGG, I think, but your handle escapes me. What was your username over there?

1 Like

Thank you all, I truly appreciate all these comments, they mean a lot to me. You have been great.

@endgame

I’m General_Norris at BGG, the guy with the animated Taiko avatar, I haven’t checked how to change my name, sadly. After I created my blog, I simply used my name, it’s how I’m called everywhere now.

EDIT: By the way, if someone wants to keep in contact you can hit me at www.eriktwice.com and @eriktwice on Twitter

4 Likes

That’s right! You’ve been there from pretty close to the beginning, hey? That avatar reminds me of people like Geoff Hollis, Alexfrog, Tuism and Llululien, the old old guard of A:NR.

Your video reminds me of one by the Tolarian Community College guy, where he credits being invited to play M:TG with breaking him out of his shell. I’m glad A:NR helped you in a similar way.

2 Likes

Yes! Haha, I started playing when the second Data Pack was released. None of the sites we know today existed, it was all Boardgamegeek and the Spanish edition of the game still wasn’t out.