Player's ID number

Hello guys,

I was wondering about ID number that identifies players. Don’t know if you had an experience from MtG, where for certain points in the season you can go to the certain events.
If FFG implemented this system would you be pleased or not?

Thanks for your opinion!

1 Like

Yes please

3 Likes

I would like this sort of thing, but don’t think FFG’s able to set it up yet.

(For one thing, it would need development work on a database that FFG simply doesn’t seem equipped to handle without hiring people and at least a year of dev work. … Source: I’m a Software Engineer.)

2 Likes

They could just use NRDB for that…

That’s possible, but they’d have to buy the site somehow. It’s not outside the realm of possibility, but it’s super rare for a large company like FFG to do something like that.

Especially after they already tried that once with cgdb and cgdb is still mega terribad.

3 Likes

They could just use it.
What is it about? Every one having a unique ID and NRDB has an interface to use the IDs like ABR is doing it…

NRDB would need to expose an API to allow a third-party (FFG) to access their User IDs and track them. Which, at that point, since NRDB doesn’t track games/matches or a ‘points’ system, FFG would need to make that. Which, again, would need Developers/Time that they currently don’t appear to have.

They’d need to buy a license or something similar or open themselves to a lawsuit from NRDB for using their database without permission. (Not that NRDB would probably ever try that, but companies exist to avoid lawsuits, so…)

As said https://alwaysberunning.net/ is doing it and I think it would be enough
See Deckbuilder · NetrunnerDB

But yes it involves work for sure. But I also think ABR is a way in this direction

What language u know?

You’re talking about two fan-run not-for-profit websites doing a crossover. A for-profit company can’t just ride on their backs, there are legal ramifications to that.

2 Likes