Sellout: a 2v2 Netrunner format

Hello, I posted this over to /r/Netrunner and they seemed to like it, so I thought I’d post it here too. I’m pretty new to Netrunner but I’m interested in game design, so I thought I’d try my hand at streamlining The Big Sellout. Here’s the post!

Hello, some of you may know of “The Big Sellout,” which was an interesting 2v2 format created for the original Netrunner TCG. You can read the original rules here, and there was a better attempt to update it for ANR here. Although the original attempt was a cool idea, it is pretty clumsily designed, with lots of weird rules and options that seem like they could easily be forgotten or induce decision paralysis, and I wanted to trim the rules so they would keep the heart of Netrunner without introducing too much extra fluff.

I unfortunately don’t have enough Netrunner players in my area, so I am asking you to help me break this variant.

Sellout: A 2v2 Netrunner variant

Boring stuff:

1. Two teams, each consisting of one Corporation player (the Sponsor) and one Runner player (the Agent). The Sponsor sits on the left and the Agent on the right, meaning each Sponsor faces an Agent and vice versa.
  2. First team to a combined 11 agenda points wins. If a Sponsor attempts to draw from an empty R&D or an Agent is flatlined, that team loses.
  3. Turn order is Sponsor 1, Sponsor 2, Agent 1, Agent 2.
  4. No resources of any kind (credits, cards, clicks, etc.) may be shared between players on a team. Each player on each team has a separate score area.
  5. Each player may look at all cards visible to their teammate.