Brand New Player

I’m brand new to the game, and just wanted to say this is one of the greatest games I’ve ever played.

I’ve only gotten to play 4 times, but I didn’t want to stop. It is so rich in it’s depth and strategy, and such a cool idea for a game.

I honestly like everything about it, and I know that the further along I get I will run into some of the negatives people have posted about for the meta game and all that. But I really, really like this game.

13 Likes

You’re preaching to the choir, brother. :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Where are you located, you might find even more players.

I’m in Carolina Beach (Wilmington), NC.

There is a group of people who play here, but from what I can tell it’s been difficult to get everyone together at the same time to play.

Luckily one of the game store managers plays, so I will almost always have someone to play against. One of my buddies at work is going to give it a try too, and I think he will like it a lot.

Welcome! Netrunner from Durham, NC here! Great to hear you’re enjoying the game so far… Hopefully you can get a playgroup established and get a lot more familiar with the game. Netrunner can be a bit daunting at first, even if you’ve played other card games before, but I think as you get more experience you’ll see that it’s one of the best-designed card games in the world.

A few suggestions on expanding your Netrunner IQ:

• Play learning games against a more experienced opponent. Veteran players can really help you learn about the Timing Structure of the Run, including all the different Action Windows, which is a very difficult concept for a lot of new players to get the hang of, as well as any gameplay mistakes you’re making.
  • Play against a lot of opponents and a lot of different deckstyles. Learning all the tricks and gameplay styles of the various IDs on both sides of the game helps you learn what tricks to use watch out for!