First two games from an absolute newb

So, I played my first two games of Netrunner last night. I ran a variation of the Reg-Ass MaxX list from the awesome article here and Quinns’ Tier 1.2 Gagarin Deck from netrunnerdb. First off, let me say that I haven’t played card games since I played Magic way back in the Ice Age. Literally, that was the last set I played. I am, however, a pretty hard core miniature gamer, so am the concept of combos, resources, etc. is pretty familiar and ingrained as are costs and counters, and stuff like that. Plus I have watched a ton of videos (thanks especially to Peachhack and Teamworkcast yours have been the most helpful! But really to everyone) and also listened to a lot of podcasts (notable shout-outs here to Terminal 7 and Run Last Click of whom I have listened to every single podcast and found them immensely helpful, and The Winning Agenda, most of which goes over my head). The netrunner reddit community has been FANTASTIC, also.

Okay, yeah I know my decks were probably not ideal starter decks, but here is why I chose what I did. First up the runner. I chose MaxX for a couple of reasons – 1. It seemed like her ability to draw every turn would help me get through my deck reasonably quick and help me out by forcing draws every turn and forcing a more active play style. I chose the Reg-Ass version because it seemed a bit more grounded in the fundamentals of good play which I do want to learn, and also or that reason seemed a bit easier for a beginner to play. That was the theory anyway. And 2. I like the way the card looks. A lot. 3. Maximum punk rock is pretty awesome. 4. If you think I need any more reasons you can go f*** yourself.