NAPD Contracts vs Fetal AI in Jinteki RP

I’m pretty new to the game overall so I’m wondering what you guys think about the merits of Fetal AI over NAPD contracts in a Jinteki PD deck (one that is focused on work compression). Is it better to thin out a runner’s grip when their turn is already inefficient due to the PD identity (often magnified by an Enhanced Login Protocol) or is it better to force them to have 4 to spend instead of the 2 to steal the agenda? Or is it just not a big deal either way?

I know it’s also somewhat specific to what other net damage threats a runner can expect to face (since they don’t really know) but it is Jinteki after all. Even without the PE I don’t think a runner feels super safe with a small grip.

The two credit difference is no joke. You might get a lucky kill or some interesting disruption off of a Fetal but most of the time those two credits can make a huge difference.

The extra advancement is also noteworthy. Sometimes you want that extra click, say to install Caprice, Install NAPD, Advance.

3 Likes

I did miss the extra advance cost. Outside of that, I think one could make a case for Fetal because I think (and correct me if I’m wrong) the runner often has an easier time re-gaining money than cards. At worst, they’re drawing even - one click for either a dollar or a card. Of course, it probably is a bigger disruption to not have the money because making a run with less money is probably worse against PD than making a run with fewer cards. As is, you’re probably right that that’s why the mainstream choice is NAPD

First off, when you say the PD Identity you mean Personal Evolution, yes?