Home | About | Tournament Winning Decklists | Forums

NISEI Questions Thread


#328

The idea of moving from 4-5 round double sided tournaments to 5-7 forty-five minute one sided rounds, then a cut sounds very appealing to me from a competitive standpoint. You get slightly fewer actual games, but those games will be better. For such a complex game, only having essentially half an hour to play one is… Incredible. I never feel like 30 minutes is a proper game of Netrunner.


#329

Have a look here:

i tried it for 2 tournaments.


#330

And what was the result?


#331

It was in:


First I had issues with the software in both tournaments. Meaning in the first one I used the wrong software and in the second I swtiched to doing it manually, my feeling was adding players later for round 2 might have broken it.
In general there are some things to considder:

  • You play more players so it’s good for introducing new players into your meta
  • You are faster in the area you belong to (first or last table, or whatever table based on your deck & skill) so less painful games.
  • But you play less total games. While when you play 5 rounds of swiss you play 10 games of ANR in this format you will play 7 - 8 games
    But I enjoyed it as TO, but don’t know what other think about it.

#332

This may not be universally true. I personally enjoy the back-and-forth with sharing a pair of games with one opponent. When meeting new people I find it spending more time one on one with someone cool is more relaxing and engaging than spending less time per person with a slightly larger number cool people.

Not arguing for/against a tournament structure. Just wanted the introvert side to be heard from.


#333

Is the design article with Greg still coming?


#334

Yep, due to drop on Monday (29th April).


#335

Any ETA for the next MWL update?


#336

I believe this evening UK time, possibly around 8pm, @RealityCheque can confirm 100% I expect.


#337

That’s correct - 8pm GMT is our standard time for announcements.


#338

I learned soemthing too! :slight_smile:


#339

So 8 PM GMT = 9 PM BST = 10 PM CEST?


#340

They want to use it next weekend: https://alwaysberunning.net/tournaments/2059/nisei-standard-day-a


#341

I imagine @RealityCheque meant 8pm BST, as the UK is currently on BST, not GMT/UTC.

BST operates from the last Sunday in March until the last Sunday in October:

8pm BST = 7pm GMT = 7pm UTC = 9pm CEST I believe.

This site is pretty useful:


#342

Not sure if I open the box of Pandora…
shouldn’t we get news about the next set soon? Based on the approach to provide 4x packs a year that would be in June as the lädt one was in March


#343

A: We’ll announce when we’re ready. I know that’s vague, but it’s hard to announce anything we don’t even have full details on yet. :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway, to give you some (but not all the) information: We’re testing right now, art is being commissioned, and the set likely won’t make Q3.