Looking for precedent (known ruling, FAQ/rule, designer commentary, etc.) that shows that preventing a cost denies the effect outside of trashing as the cost bring prevented. The only examples I can find that have been ruled relate to trashing, which specifically has a caveat in the FAQ (under Trashing as a Cost). I can’t find a more general claim.
Do we have anything to show it works for costs in general? Specifically looking at the upcoming Obokata Protocol, and want to be able to show, definitively, that preventing it disallows stealing.
Also, bonus round; just want to make sure I’m interpreting it correctly, but I can use Paige Piper to search for 0 cards while utilizing Frantic Coding (interrupting the trash portion of the effect without requiring Paige trash) right? Normally you have to find a target when you search the deck for it, but Paige says “any number”, so I can technically search for 0 parasites and find all 0 of them, right?