Bayesian Analysis of Running the Hand

Hello all.
I’ve always wondered about how many times one should run a hand until he/she gives up before not finding an agenda. I did some quick Bayesian analysis using R to find some probabilities. My assumptions that there is a fresh game state, with 49 unknown cards (corp deck size), and 11 agendas left in the deck. These numbers can be easily changed in the code.

I will post the full output (and the code) below, so that you can draw whatever conclusions you’d like from it. I think one of the more interesting things is, given that the corp has 5 cards in hand,

—1 runs without seeing an agenda
probability of 0 agendas in hand given that none were seen
[1] 0.42753

—3 runs without seeing an agenda
[1] 0.5723637

so running two additional times without seeing an agenda only increases the likelihood that the corp has no agendas by ~15%.

I am very confident in my math (I am a PhD student in statistics and probability, and I’ve coded this type of thing several times before), but feel free to argue if you think there is a mistake. Also I used R which is a free easy to use and download programming language. Like I said the numbers are easily modifiable to figure out other probablities that you’d like. It is possible that 11 agendas is a high number. It may be interesting to set the deck size to 40 to see what happens in a TWIY FA deck.

Here is the full output: (code is at the end, and forgive the ugliness. You can’t do much with R to make it pretty)

------1 cards in hand------

[1] 1
probability of 1 agendas in hand given that none were seen
[1] 0

—2 runs without seeing an agenda
[1] 1
[1] 0

[1] 1
[1] 0

------2 cards in hand------

[1] 0.8135593
[1] 0.1864407
probability of 2 agendas in hand given that none were seen
[1] 0

[1] 0.8971963
[1] 0.1028037
[1] 0

[1] 0.9458128
[1] 0.05418719
[1] 0

------3 cards in hand------

[1] 0.6592636
[1] 0.3085915
[1] 0.03214494
probability of 3 agendas in hand given that none were seen