Corp feeling helpless

I don’t know if this is because I am new to the game or not.

I have played many games as Runner where I get to the point where I feel like I am going to lose. But I rarely feel totally helpless. I guess that is the power of a lucky access. It might create the illusion of hope.

As the Corp, though, I play many more games where you get to the point where it feels like you are just waiting for the Runner to win and there really is not much you can do about it.

What does the Corp do to have some sense of control over the game?

1 Like

I don’t mean to be pithy - but most corps are Controlling the Message or 24/7 Boom decks for just this reason.

6 Likes

In the current meta, you have to have ‘outs’ when the Runner rigs up and can break all your ICE. If all you’re trying to do is score behind stuff that’s big and nasty or just a simple gearcheck, you will lose more often than not. That’s just where we’re at.

Some examples of what I mean by this are Fast Advance cards (Biotic Labor, SanSan City Grid, Jeeves Model Bioroids, Psychographics), cards that get around R&D Lock (Fast Track, Sensi Actors Union), or cards that cause you to just win (Exchange of Information, Scorched Earth, BOOM!).

Dragar is right: Controlling the Message and the 24/7 BOOM! decks (SYNC or Near Earth Hub) are pretty much the best at this right now because they can normally incorporate several of these outs all at once, making the whole ICE/Icebreaker dichotomy somewhat moot.

You also just sometimes have to roll a hard six in this meta and power draw for what you need: That Biotic that will help you score a 3/2 out of hand, the Psycho that can give you a 5 point Beale, your kills cards, etc… And leave the ICE game behind.

1 Like

Oh. And one other element of it…
If you feel helpless as a Corp, you absolutely cannot let the Runner know this.

You can win games on the back of Runner insecurity and uncertainty.