Guest (Beginner) Lobby on Jinteki.net

As many of you know, Netrunner is a game with a high barrier to entry for beginners. Even though jinteki.net already significantly lowers that barrier by providing access to the entire cardpool, there is still a lot to be desired in that matter.

A complete beginner to Netrunner (not having ever seen a physical copy or anything), after visiting jinteki.net for the first time ever, faces following problems:

1. Not knowing rules - has to either watch a youtube video, read a rulebook (which he doesn’t have) or rely on met strangers to teach them.

2. Rules have tons of gotchas and weird interactions, with no one good place to learn them all.

3. Decks currently played draw from a huuge cardpool (currently about 1000 and counting) with often complicated mechanics.

4. To play or even just watch a game you have to register an account. That can be a huger block to trying out a site than most think. E-commerce sites which enabled guest checkout observed sales increase sometimes as high as 45%. (1) (2)

5. To play, you have to construct a deck. There are a few old Worlds Championship Winners’ decks added by default to the account, but they are not necessarily easy to play, evenly matched against today’s meta or even each other.

6. Even in the casual room, you can encounter decks that are really not friendly for beginner games, sometimes even if you name the game e.g. “beginner here, learning the game”.

This change - adding a guest lobby - is attempting to solve problems 4, 5 and 6. Problems 2 and 3 are circumvented by limiting decks played in the lobby to only a few pre-constructed ones, carefully tailored for beginner use and balanced against each other. Basic strategy write-ups (targeted at people who never played even a single Netrunner game) for them would also be very useful, helping a tiny bit with problem 1.