I fail at Tennin. Wat do?

Pretty much what it says on the tin. I’m a veteran MTG player but pretty much a Netrunner noob. One of the lists I’ve put together is the Tennin deck that won Polish Nationals and though the deck seems good on paper, when it’s time to shuffle up… dear god, how did this pile ever win? Ice is expensive, half the econ is unplayable T1. It’s like a classic case of midrange MTG decks all over again: Your cards rock, but the moment you draw the wrong half of your deck…

Any tips on stuff to look for during mulligans and general mentality playing the deck? Also, does the ID ability trigger on turn 1?

If I remember that list was a little… weird?

Tennin ability does not trigger on turn 1.

Try this list out to start.

Tennin Institute: The Secrets Within (Honor and Profit)

Agenda (11)

Asset (5)

Upgrade (3)

Operation (12)

Barrier (8)

Code Gate (6)

Sentry (4)

• 2x Grim (Opening Moves)
  • 2x Komainu (Honor and Profit)

15 influence spent (max 15)
20 agenda points (between 20 and 21)
49 cards (min 45)
Cards up to Honor and Profit

I use a really nice deck that runs Tyrant which is a really nice piece of ice to drop free counters on.

1 Like

What’s the point to playing Tennin here? To beef up your Ice Walls and Trick of Light? I hate to see such a beautiful ability used so… ‘optimally’ ! :frowning:

1 Like