Yeah, I agree, thanks. “Trashing” is not the same as “placing in discard”, it’s a specific thing. It’s similar to if a corp trashed a Personal Workshop, and 15 hosted cards go into the discard. Only one card was “trashed”, the rest were discarded.
Absolutely not!
All sixteen cards would be trashed in the above example. One trashed by the Corp, and fifteen trashed as a triggered effect of the Personal Workshop being trashed (and thus not by either player).
Ok, thanks.
Ok, I have 2 Reality Threedee unrezzed against a runner that has 2 Ghost Runner installed. He makes a run at me with 0 credits. I have Broadcast Square, which traces to prevent bad publicity from happening. I have 3 Aryabhata Tech out at the time, rezzed. I rez the Reality Threedee during the run, and initiate a trace 3. The trace is successful, does the runner lose 3 Ghost Runner credits for each time I rez Reality Threedee?
What now?
Edit: Okay, getting hard to keep straight which cards have been spoiled. No, Aryabhata Tech says “lose”, and the runner can’t “lose” credits that aren’t in their credit pool.
Okay, yes, Aryabhata Tech can force the runner to lose a Ghost Runner credit as per this ruling: Universal Connectivity Fee v. Ghost Runner Ruling | Android Netrunner Comprehensive Unofficial Rules Wiki | Fandom
Oh right, and Aryabhata Tech says whenever there is a successful trace, the runner loses 1 and the corp gains 1 credit.
Edit: Of course I now notice how Tollbooth is different now
Thank you
Dang I was misremembering the ruling (should have looked it up first). Yes, the Runner can lose the credits because it is during a run, sorry for the mixup.
Hello all,
So I have a hypothetical question
Say it is the Corps turn and the runner is tagged, after an action, the runner tries to use Artist Colony’s ability to try and install a card from their stack. As it is the Corps turn can he/she use the ability of using a click and 2 credits to stop this? ( I am assuming not as it is a click rather than an ability like that of Artist Colony.
Alternatively could they score an agenda like Character Assassination
1: Character Assassination · NetrunnerDB to trash the resource before the ability resolved? (due to it being the corps turn, thus having timing priority)
Many thanks in advance!!
No, generally there are no ‘reactions’ in Netrunner (see below for exceptions), and also using a click and 2 credits is a full action, so definitely not that.
If the runner can trigger artist’s colony, then it must be their ability phase at that point which means the corp has to wait until they are done before they can do anything else. Even if it’s the corps turn, that doesn’t mean they get to jump in when the runner wants to do something, it means that they get to have an ability phase first, rather than the runner - once in their respective phases, the other player still has to wait until they’re done.
So in your example, the corp has priority, but there’s nothing they want to do yet, so they get the first ability phase after the action and simply pass. This means it’s now the runners phase, and they decide to forfeit the agenda. The corp could’ve trashed artist’s colony before in their phase with some ability (e.g. scoring Character Assassination) for sure, but they didn’t realise the runner was going to use it, so they didn’t, and now it’s too late. Basically, the corp can’t wait to see what the runner does and then react.
The only exceptions are cards that ‘prevent’ or ‘avoid’ things, and these do allow you to break the normal order of things (e.g. preventing damage).
Great! Thank you for the Clarification Octopus!
Also “when the runner is about to do X you may”
Oh yeah, good catch.
Can populist rally be installed off a street peddler?
So Apocalypse + Hostile Infrastructure deals X lots of 1 damage, yes? My question is whether I’ve Had Worse would trigger between those damages, or after all the individual 1 damages have been applied.
It’s an event, so I don’t see why you could. You don’t install events anyhow.
They are individual instances of 1 damage, so yes. Just like Komainu.
Lol, indeed
New question about Apocalypse and Hostile Infrastructure.
I have an Heartbeat installed.
Let’s say I play Apocalypse so I’m going to take 1 Net for each card trashed.
While I’m taking every net individually, can I use the console to prevent the damage before it is turned facedown ?
Yes. You always resolve one effect at a time.
Isn’t that contradictory with the ruling about Account Siphon & New Angeles City Hall ? (In the case where you have no credit before resolving AS.)