Official Rules Question Thread

Account Siphon’s effect is, “you gain 2c for each credit lost and take 2 tags.” Gaining the credits and taking the tags is a single effect.

1 Like

So the fact that there is no “and” in Apocalypse wording allows you to separate its resolution ?

It doesn’t allow you to separate the effects, the effects just are separate.

1 Like

Yeah, the ‘and’ is the crucial word. It might seem a little pedantic, but it serves a purpose really. There was a fair bit of discussion about it at the time if I remember, and the ruling was such that you can’t use the credits gained by Account Siphon to pay for getting rid of the tags (using something like New Angeles City Hall) because they happen at the same time. (Simultaneous vs sequential situations is unfortunately less than clear in A:NR.)

So in situations like the one you mentioned that don’t use ‘and’, the effects are discrete and separate, especially if they are separated with a full stop as they are in this case.

Someone brought this up on reddit:

Can Diwan increase the install cost of an upgrade installed in the root of a central server?
No. Cards installed in the root of a central server are not in that central server.

Does this mean Breaker Bay Grid doesn’t apply to central upgrades?

2 Likes

Looks that way

I have 2 netchips. I install Magnum Opus on my first netchip. My second netchip gets trashed. Does anything happen?

Yes, Magnum Opus is trashed. Hosting restrictions are constantly checked.

1 Like

This is answered in the Business First UFAQ. Check it out!

4 Likes

@jakodrako can you confirm the conjecture above that breaker bay grid does not work on central upgrades, as they would be installed in the root of the central server, which is not the same as ‘in’ the central server?

i can recall times in games where being able to rez a crisium on hq/rnd for free has been the difference between winning and losing the game

You cannot have Crisium and BBG in same server :slight_smile:

5 Likes

It should have been the difference between DQ and not DQ :wink:

4 Likes

That would be pretty inconsistent if BBG worked on other central root upgrades, eh? :smile:

lol I meant ash - you know what I mean!

I’m like 90% sure it doesn’t matter right now, but would this mean that BBG on HQ would lower the rez cost of the cards in your hand? Like if we ever got a card “install a card with rez cost less than 4” would BBG affect it?

3 Likes

If “this server” doesn’t refer to the central server that an upgrade is in the root of, then nothing works on centrals (Hokusai, Caprice, Crisium etc.). If “this server” does refer to the central server that an upgrade is in the root of, then yes, it ought to reduce rez costs as you say.

I don’t think we’re talking about “this server” but “in this server”. Central servers have upgrades installed “in the root” of those servers rather than “in” those servers. Right?

2 Likes

correct!

Yep, exactly. So where the Hokusai Grid “successful run on this server” refers to a successful run on HQ when Hokusai Grid is in the root of HQ, the “cards in this server” bit on Breaker Bay Grid refers to cards in HQ when Breaker Bay Grid is in the root of HQ.

Where an upgrade is in the root of a server, “this server” on the upgrade refers to the server itself and not the root (or if it doesn’t we need to rethink what all previous cards do!).

So even though the upgrades refer to ‘this server’, that doesn’t mean the server they are in (because they aren’t in the central server), it means the server they are in the root of? However when other cards refer to a server, they’re not included because they’re not in it?

So there’s three server related states - ‘in’, ‘protecting’, and ‘in the root’ ?

(for the record…what the shit?)