Official Rules Question Thread

That’s just flat out wrong, though.

We had counterexamples to that idea back in the core set, with Chum’s floating constant ability.

I’m pretty sure I’ve explained how Imp works at least three times. I guess it must have been on Reddit or something. I’ll put up an explanation on ANCUR in a minute

2 Likes

The trigger rules explain why Imp works after ‘When Accessed’ abilities.

When a trigger happens, you stop whatever you’re doing and resolve the trigger.

It’s a little weird because you can’t trash the card you’re accessing here yet, you have to let the When Accessed things happen first. It works this way because otherwise all of them would be fundamentally broken and do nothing. (If you could trash Snare while it was firing the When Accessed ability, its ability wouldn’t end up resolving because of how Netrunner works with sources of triggers going away. See Femme vs Tollbooth.)

You can play Salem’s Hospitality off a Mumbad City Hall activation against a runner with no grip, right?

And can you search for Salem’s Hospitality off of a Mumbad City Hall activation when you have no credits in pool, because you saw Vanity Project on top of your deck and you’re NEH?

Since the trash text on currents is a constant ability, does that mean Employee Strike doesn’t work against Titan?

It’s a bit funky, but even though employee strike gets trashed before triggered abilities (e.g. chronos protocol) would fire, I believe that because Titan is blanked when the triggering event actually happens, it “misses” the trigger, akin to supplier/daily casts.

3 Likes

Any update on when this will be fixed. It’s really annoying that this incorrect ruling exists in the official FAQ.

How do you and FFG suggest I rule if this comes up in a tournament I am TO’ing?

I can’t speak for FFG, but I would role it how the card is supposed to work.

Question: If I play Rolodex, then on a later turn I play Apocalypse, then some time in the future I trash the face-down Rolodex, does its “when trashed” effect go off? I’m thinking “no”, because the time for “when trashed”-triggers should have passed before it flips face up on the way to the heap, but I wanted to confirm.

The abilities of facedown Runner cards are not active.

Rubber cards? Things like ICE with a high bounce rate? :wink:

But seriously, at what point does a facedown card turn faceup on its way to the heap? Is there any moment where it is faceup-and-active?

1 Like

no

2 Likes

How exactly does Whizzard hit by Cerebral Cast work if his credits were not used at the time Corp played the current? Do credits stay, but Whizzard cannot spend them on anything until current goes away as it is his text (blanked now) which allows him to use this money to trash cards?

Yes.

4 Likes

Additionally, the credits won’t “refresh” while his ID is blank. So, for example:

Turn 1: Whizzard trashes a Sensie Union, using 2 of his recurring credits.
Turn 2: Corp plays Cerebral Static.
Turn 3: Whizz steals an agenda, trashing the Static. He then runs a server with a Jackson Howard - he still has only 1 recurring credit on Whizz, so he needs two credits from another source (e.g. his credit pool) to trash Jackson.

4 Likes

For clarity:

If I have a rezzed Jeeves, can I Biotic, install a card, then play two other operations to get Jeeves to trigger? Is there any reason the three clicks have to be consecutive?

you can do this.

3 Likes

Bishop:

Click: Host Bishop on a piece of ice not hosting a ​Caïssa​.

If I access an Archangel in R&D, and the corp pays to start the encounter, and I have Deep Red installed, can I paid-ability-install Bishop hosted onto the Archangel?

no, because it’s not an installed card

1 Like

Curse you, implicit installed-only restriction on every line of rules text! Curse yoooooou!