Official Rules Question Thread

I literally said that I checked with Damon. I guess you don’t have to believe me, but there is no motivation for me to lie to you.

My point was that the end result doesn’t matter. So if both R&D and Archives were empty, then you would not be able to use Jackson because there is no possible end result that causes a change in game state.

1 Like

It refers to “if the runner is tagged”. Good question though, I think I’ll add it to the UFAQ

Almost entirely theoretical question follows:

The Runner runs a server and lets a Chum fire. They then run into a Kitsune as the next ICE, which the Chum condition now attaches to, and the Corp also rezzes Marcus Batty when they rez Kitsune. During encounter, the Runner can’t break Kitsune, but before the sub fires, the Corp uses Marcus Batty to trigger Marker (rezzed somewhere further out in the server). Now the Corp uses Kitsune to show the Runner Archangel from hand and trigger its ability (it now gains the ETR from Marker). The Runner is now encountering Archangel with an ETR. The Runner doesn’t break Archangel and the run ends. Do they take the Chum damage from Kitsune? I can’t for the life of me remember where, but I’m sure I saw something recently saying that if Archangel is encountered, existing ICE encounters are temporarily “suspended” or not considered to be active during the Archangel encounter or some such. If so, I’m not sure if the trigger for Chum is met, specifically the “during an encounter with the next piece of ice” part (Kitsune in this case).

(Kitsune need not be trashed when this happens as there are two Corp effects from the same trigger of accessing the Archangel, trashing the Kitsune and triggering the Archangel encounter, and the Corp can choose for the Archangel trigger to go first of course.)

2 Likes

If you use Accelerated Diagnostics to play Subcontract from R&D, must the additional costs of any subcontracted operations (from HQ) be paid, or are they absolved by Accelerated Diagnostics?

More generally, what portion of the subcontracted cards’ play and/or additional costs are the “play cost” and “additional costs” for Subcontract itself?

Subcontract:

Play only if the Runner is tagged.
Play up to 2 operations from HQ (paying all costs), resolving them one at a time.

Accelerated Diagnostics:

Look at the top 3 cards of R&D. If any of those cards are operations, you may play them (paying their play cost), ignoring any additional costs. Trash the rest of the unplayed cards you looked at.

I would say that the “additional” costs of the subcontracted operations remain “additional costs” when you use AD to play Subcontract, so you can (in the extreme case) AD for 3 subcontracts and play 6 doubles from hand.

This type of extreme edge case is why I told Damon to make encountering a piece of ice an atomic action.

1 Like

Accelerated Diagnostics only ignores the additional costs of the operations it itself plays. This does not pass on recursively to pperations played by operations played by Subcontract.

Thanks / DANG IT!

crazy scenario, but it seems clear to me. from ANCUR: [quote]
If the Runner jacks out immediately after encountering a Chum and not breaking its subroutine, the Runner does not take any damage.
Chum deals its net damage the first time either of the following occur during an encounter with the next piece of ice:

  1. a subroutine resolves
  2. the encounter/run ends (includes bypassing) before all subroutines are broken
    [/quote]
    seems like this is a case of #2, so the damage fires when the run ends, right?

even if archangel were to “suspend” the chummed encounter (through some never mentioned and seemingly unnecessary mechanic - shit nests all the time in this game, why not encounters) the following events do happen:

  • the encounter with the chummed ICE began
  • before that encounter ended by any other means, the run was ended.

this would seem to trigger the damage ipso facto. as the encounter must have ended since the run is over.

1 Like

Indeed, if the encounter with Kitsune is active that would be a simple resolution of the case. But as I said, I thought I had recently seen a reference in some tweet ruling or something that invoked the idea that if an ICE was encountered during an ongoing encounter then the ICE that was already being encountered wasn’t considered to be being encountered for the duration of the “nested” encounter with the second ICE. But I don’t remember the exact wording.

If my recollection is true, the run would end at a time when the Chum-ed ICE wasn’t being encountered, thus not fulfilling the trigger (it would be case 2, but not “during an encounter with the next piece of ice”).

(Note that the encounter ends at a defined point in the run timing chart during 3.2 either when the entire run ends during sub resolution, or after the unbroken subs have all fired. So in the example the encounter would end at a point during the sub resolution due to ETR, but when Kitsune wasn’t actually being encountered because Archangel was.)

it feels to me like the “encounter ends” would also nest, even if this were the case. as in,
1)kitsune encounter is “suspended” until end of nested encounter, as you say (again, I’ve never heard of this, but just going with it)
2) run is ended during archangel encounter. per you definition above, this ends the archangel encounter.
3) archangel encounter ending “un-suspends” kitsune encounter, which is instantly over as the run has ended. as the encounter is over, chum fires.

Maybe this answer is all in my head, but it seems like a lot of unnecessary breaking-the-rules-of-causality mental gymnastics to have encounters be able to over without “ending.”

I don’t say you’re lying, sorry if you understood this. I do think you don’t get my point though.

You can use Jackson with 0 archives / 0 R&D, it’s not against the faq p.3. “Up to 3” can be 0, and shuffle in a 0 size r&d is ok (no size limit specified). It’s on the card.

You can trigger the Psi on Batty. But you can’t resolve a sub on a rezzed ice, there is none, the limit is strict here : rezzed. Why “if you can’t solve you can’t play” in the faq and here “if you can solve half the card it’s ok” ?

Half the card is not solving, to me.

I don’t understand. I’ll comply, of course, and no problems with that, but I don’t understand.

A couple of questions:
(1) If I Drive By and my opponent prevents the expose using e.g. Zaibatsu Loyalty, does the rest of Drive By resolve? In the case that it does trash the installed card, presumably the trashed card is placed face down in archives. I’m not sure whether or not the Drive By needs to know if the card is an Asset or an Upgrade, the game knows!

(2) @Seamus wants to know: can I purge to remove Political Graffiti if there are no viruses/virus counters in play?

On 2:

Latest UFAQ answered this. You can purge political graffiti if there are no viruses in play.

1 Like

You can’t do that though. In that specific case (0 cards in both R&D and Archives), Jackson has no potential to change the game state.

A partially resolvable effect is still usable though. Otherwise you wouldn’t be able to us Diesel when there were less than three cards left in your stack, or Power Shutdown without the Runner having a hardware, etc.

1 Like

This is covered in the official FAQ.

If the Runner plays Drive By and the Corp uses Zaibatsu Loyalty to prevent the card from being exposed, can the card still be trashed if it is an asset or upgrade?
No. The effect does not resolve because Drive By cannot confirm the card to be an asset or an upgrade.

1 Like

Can 1 card in R&D be ‘shuffled’ for game-state purposes?

1 card in R&D and 0 cards in Archives = no Jackson

1 Like

I still don’t understand the difference between this situation and Scavenge + no program in heap.

Meaning what? You can’t Scavenge with no program in heap or grip

Then, you shouldn’t Batty with no rezzed ice ? (or ice, to begin with). It is the same as faq p.3, part of the effect is unsolvable as the whole.

I agree with the psi part, it’s always solvable, but the effect it triggers isn’t.