Official Rules Question Thread

You can still play a psi game. You only look at the immediate effect of the ability, which is: Play a Psi Game. Just because nothing happens if you win the psi game doesn’t mean you can’t use the ability.

1 Like

Just further to this for clarification Syntax, if the trashing was part of the Scavenge effect, you could play it. It is not, the trashing is part of the cost. The psi game on Batty in contrast is part of the effect.

So while both involve doing one thing and then doing another thing in a way (trash->install and psi->resolve sub), the trash is a cost and the psi is an effect.

2 Likes

It is unrelated.

How I Read Scavenge is the same as you. [Trash program] = cost, [Install from grip or heap] = effect.
How I read Batty is [Trash Batty] = cost, [Psi] = condition, [Resolve sub blabla] = effect. I would be even more okay if some of you read Psi as part of the effect, it is not the point.

Now actually before paying the cost of scavenge (or before paying the cost of batty), before applying Scavenge effect (before psi + Batty effect), you actually have to check if there is a program in heap or hand (to me, it would be logical if you would check if there is a rezzed ice for Batty).

Lukas ruled no program in grip or heap = unplayable scavenge, I think that would lead to no rezzed ice = batty can’t fire.

It may be just me but I don’t understand the difference between those two situations.

Now, I see why you still don’t understand. You’re making things up:

Why is the Psi game a condition? The Psi game is spelled out on each Psi card. It tell you to spend credits. That’s an effect. It can be resolved, so the whole card is resolvable.

3 Likes

It is not the main problem.

The main problem is in one case with the ruling you check additional restrictions in the effect part for Scavenge, in Batty you don’t check.

If you consider Batty as only a card with [Cost part] : [Effect part], then the similarity with Scavenge is even more evident.

With Scavenge, installing a card from Heap or Grip is the ONLY thing its effect does. If it can’t have a program to install, it literally does nothing. That’s not allowed.

With Batty, resolving a subroutine is NOT the only thing its effect does. Batty’s effect both initiates a psi game and potentially resolves a subroutine on a piece of ice. If even one of those things could resolve, you can use Batty.

6 Likes

Okay, thanks, I think I get it.
Does Psis acts like Traces in that regard ?

Rereading your tweet about Democracy & Dogma UFaq made the declic : “cards that initiate a trace can be played even if the trace wouldn’t do anything if successful.”

Ok…not that I want to encourage encourage this discussion further, but if the “trash an installed card” was not an additional cost, but instead part of the card resolution would you then be able to resolve it by trashing a program then installing it from the heap with no programs in your grip or heap prior to this?

@jakodrako responded to you 2 days ago with the answer:

He must be a time traveler or a prophet :laughing:

3 Likes

Sorry to be a clumsy & talkative person, many thanks to all :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Yes.

1 Like

Question: “For Each/Every…” statements, does the effect resolve separately for every trigger condition, or as a bulk statement?

Example: I score a Philotic Entanglement on a runner that has 3 Fan Sites and a House of Knives scored, do they take 1 net damage 4 separate times, or 4 net damage?

I’m wondering because it is going to mean a lot when Potential Unleashed gets released.

A “for each” operation happens in bulk (just like Project Junebug). The runner takes 4 net damage at once in your example (and thus only trashes the top card of the stack for Potential Unleashed).

If I have a copy of a unique resource or hardware installed, can I install a second copy of that resource or hardware and trash the first one? There’s cases where this could matter, with Temüjin Contract or Jak shenanigans.

99% sure no.

Yes, as long as there isn’t any other rule restricting the install (such as the console limit). The unique rule doesn’t itself prohibit installing another copy of a unique card, it just immediately and unpreventably trashes any other active copy.

4 Likes

And to extend that to Corp, my understanding is that you CAN install multiple Unique assets/upgrades, but only have one rezzed. If you rez a second, you trash the first.

(Just to doublecheck)

2 Likes

Is this a sure thing? I know of a situation where the TO didn’t allow to install second Wyldside from Peddler (Peddler was holding Levy captive and Wyldside was the only installable). This was a fringe case before but with Temujin it is key.

Yes it’s a sure thing. There has never been a restriction on installing uniques, only other things such as consoles.

3 Likes

Probably seems like a really dumb question, but does Kate synergise with peddler installs?
e.g. could one install hardware/program for -2 discount off peddler using Kates ability?