Official Rules Question Thread

Yes, it’s the first install each turn, and street peddler tells you to install the card. You can even pop street peddler on the corp’s turn to get your discount on both their turn and your turn.

1 Like

Looking for some clarity on scavenge rules. I know there has been much discussion but I have no idea where it ended up.

For example, I have fully spent lady on the board and no other programs in grip or in hand. Can I scavenge the lady to refill it?
As far I can see the game state has changes as the same lady now has 4 shiny new power counters on it.

Secondary question: If I had, say a Zu in heap, or grip, would I be able to trash and scavenge the lady then?

1/ by “in grip or hand”, did you meant “in grip or heap” ?
If yes then no, you can’t even play scavenge.

2/ yes, you can.

2 Likes

Also to add to Syntax’s response, if you want to scavenge lady to get new counters but only have torch in grip/heap, you need to have the difference of costs in credits or you won’t be able to scavenge lady for lady (aka 5c, or 4c if first install+Kate).

1 Like

There’s no question of being able to “do X, Y or Z” with a card. The only limitation is on playing it at all. If you are allowed to play it, then go ahead and do whatever you want with it (even maybe nothing at all!).

You aren’t allowed to play a card if there is no possible potential of the card effects changing the gamestate, at the time you prepare to play it. You don’t count play costs or other triggered effects, so you don’t assess the potential for gamestate change with Lady in the bin (as putting Lady in the bin is a play cost).

2 Likes

Am I the only one who’s not aware of the rulings that you cannot prevent the tag from Snatch and Grab with NACH? I’ve been playing it wrong at multiple events and countless games on jinteki.net… I really think this should be added to the FAQ.

1 Like

I assume I know the answer to this one already, but I just want to make sure I’m not missing something. If the runner runs on a server with an agenda in it, and before access, the corp rezzes Red Herrings, using a political operative does not prevent the red herrings effect correct?

“This applies even during the run on which the Runner trashes Red Herrings.”

3 Likes

Sure. I was just making sure nothing about political operative impacted that.

4 Likes

Sandburg timing questions:

Suppose I have a Sandburg, 20 credits, and a piece of ice with a Parasite on it at one strength. If I rez Magnet, am I able to host the Parasite on Magnet, or does the ice die (due to losing a Sandburg strength from paying to rez Magnet) before that can happen?

Similar question with NEXT Bronze: suppose I have Sandburg, 20 credits, and a Parasited NEXT Bronze at 1 Strength. If I rez a NEXT Silver, does the NEXT Bronze die or does it live?

If at any point the host ice strength is 0 or less, it is trashed.

So probably in the Magnet case the ice dies because Magnet’s ability is triggered and doesn’t happen right away - correct?

But what about in the NEXT Bronze case? Is paying 3 to rez NEXT Silver and NEXT Bronze “seeing” the NEXT Silver rezzed simultaneous?

You pay costs, then shit happens, and afterwards you get the effect. If Order of Sol triggers between paying for Sure Gamble and gaining money from the event, Parasite will kill your ice here*

*99% certain. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Is there somewhere I can submit questions for Damion to answer officially? There is a person I’m consistently running into on forums who insists that Same Old Thing fulfills the requirements of always be running. Everything I’ve ever seen says otherwise, but there is no UFAQ regarding this question that I can find. I just want something official that clearly states in no uncertain terms whether SoT fulfills ABR’s requirements.

I’m not actually 100% sure whether you can SoT a run event with ABR out (I think you can’t?), but the latest (official) FAQ had an update regarding Always Be Running - see 23 Seconds UFAQ/Question 3 | Android Netrunner Comprehensive Unofficial Rules Wiki | Fandom

Yes I know. But that doesn’t explicitly discuss SoT so it’s not effective proof for the specific discussion.

https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/contact/rules/

(Via FFG website>Customer Service>Rules Questions)

3 Likes

Thanks.

Just being curious: I have a World’s Plaza out with some assets on it. Runner plays Rumor Mill. What would happen?

Whilst we’re on it; same question for Alix T4LB07 that already has some power counters on it. What happens to the counters? (Obviously I’m developing supersecret tech for Nationals).

I believe the answer for both is: nothing much at all happens. You wouldn’t be able to host any additional assets on the Plaza and the Alix would stop collecting new counters (and you couldn’t use the existing ones), but existing hosting relationships should stay the same.

3 Likes