Tempo Tennin

I want to share my latest Tennin Institute build. I’ve been tweaking it for about 3-4 months, and I think that has some interesting features that might make it well position in the metagame. I took this deck to Canadian Nationals, and it won 6 out of 7 games, taking me to the top 16 (I came in 10th, falling in elimination to 2 runner loses).

I call this deck tempo Tennin, because it is capable of adjusting its speed depending on the matchup. In some match-ups, you play a bit like a glacier deck, building up ice and slowly creating a taxing remote. But, against other opponents or with the right draw, it can play a much more aggressive rush game, scoring out an early Nisei mark II and chaining this into the game winning agendas. This makes it quite adaptable (and fun to play). It also puts your opponent in a bind- if they run aggressively, you can bleed them of resources and set up for the late game, but if they sacrifice tempo to set up, you can rush out a Neisei. I think that this kind of tempo deck is an interesting alternative to the normal FA/rush/glacier strategies.

Here’s the list:

Identity: Jinteki: Tennin Institute: The Secrets Within

Cards: 49 / 45
Agenda points: undefined / 20
Influence: 15 / 15

Agenda (9)
3x NAPD Contract
3x Nisei MKII
3x The Future Perfect

Asset (3)
3x Jackson Howard ●●●

Ice (21)
1x Bastion
3x Eli 1.0 ●●●
3x Ice Wall ●●●
1x Ichi 1.0 ●●
2x Inazuma
1x Komainu
2x Lotus Field
2x Pup
2x Quandary
1x Tollbooth ●●
3x Tsurugi

Operation (13)
3x Celebrity Gift
3x Hedge Fund
3x Medical Research Fundraiser
2x Successful Demonstration ●●
2x Trick Of Light

Upgrade (3)
3x Caprice Nisei