Was Glacier as great as people make is sound now?

I started playing Netrunner after the publication of Rumor Mill and the demise of glacier as a viable deck archetype.

To read the comments and the complaints, it sounds like people found playing against glacier an exciting and wonderful experience. I mean, why else all the sadness about it leaving and being replaced by asset spam and tag hell?

Was it a lot of fun to money up, run through a four-deep remote and then lose a psi game?

Or did people belly ache about how unfun it was to play against a thousand Foodcoats decks back in the day?

1 Like

While I never did like playing or playing against foodcoats, there where a lot of people who enjoyed the deck and the style of play that it brought to the table. Also yes people did complain a lot about caprice and ash, if you dig back into the forum about 6 months ago people where actively wishing bans and complaining about how far foodcoats (or before that RP) was from real netrunner.

However various people have different preferred styles of play and there is often a bad taste when a style of play disappears from perceived contention. Much like how others and myself cried rivers of tears when faust and the dumblefork meta put the last nail in the coffin of supermoderism, others really liked the idea of scoring out behind taxing servers with defensive upgrades.

So to put it bluntly, yes its people just complaining that the deck style they have played for a good long time is no longer tier 1. Add to that there is no clearly analogous deck out there and you have a lot of salt.

Now excuse me Iā€™m going to try yet another iteration of supermoderism in the hopes that this version will actually allow weyland rush to be a thing againā€¦ :cry:

9 Likes

People have complained about Caprice since release and while I think she would have been more fun if she worked like batty instead, she can be played around with minimal changes to you runner deck.