Where to take the game from Core? How to "catch up"?

Hey fellow netrunners,

I’m still pretty new to netrunner. I’ve played roughly 100 games with Core-cards only and a couple of games with cards up to C&C. I also own the cards up to C&C with 2 core sets. I play the game with a friend and on OCTGN. I have played every faction and feel that I understand all the rules, strategies and deck-archtypes so far.

Now in the long run I want to be able to play against players in the current meta and maybe at tournament. But how do I get there?

Everywhere people are talking about buying-in and which packs to buy but thats not the answer to my question, or is it? Because I feel that even if I would buy everything I wouldn’t be “able” to play against other players in the meta well. Because netrunner is to some degree about knowing what cards your opponent could have. So I would lose a lot and if I lose a lot that would take the fun away and that is obviously my number one priority.

Correct me if I’m wrong but the way I see it is that the real challenge lies in catching up with the card-knowledge.

So how did/would you do it and what experience/advice can you share with me?

Thx

Jazzleflo

1 Like

Welcome, good questions.

If you want a list of all the cards out there, I’d go to NetrunnerDB and have a look. But as you say, that doesn’t tell you about the meta.

If you want an idea about what the current hot deck topics are, NetrunnerDB has you covered again. Look for decks that have done well in tournaments and have a decent number of comments - a good comment count is usually a sign that the author’s written about how it works.

If you need help building your card memory, I’d suggest a spaced-repetition system like Anki, but I don’t think anyone’s built flashcard decks for it yet. It’s not something we’ve explored on the forum, but you could build look at building some decks if you were super-serious.

1 Like