Hearts of Frost - Support Group for Glacier Players

As many of you know I have been a long time glacier archetype enthusiast. We have gained some interesting cards like sandburg, but lost the security of ash, caprice and many others.

My question is how do we build glacier for a meta where defensive upgrades can be blanked?

3 Likes

Let’s define our terms first.
When you say “Glacier”, I assume you’re talking about a deck that builds a taxing remote and makes it infeasable for the runner to enter? Or are we just talking slow decks without flatline?

1 Like

Ash and Caprice were already released when I started playing, so I never really played before them. What worked before then? never-advancing? advanceable traps? Or was runner econ just poor enough that you could make remotes taxing enough on the basis of a single run and upgrades that require repeated runs were not necessary? Or maybe glacier just wasn’t good.

For what it’s worth, I cannot actually provide any contribution as to how to revitalize glacier, but I can assure you it has nothing to do with Research Grants.

5 Likes

The first thing that springs to my mind is Replicating Perfection. Already a home to taxing ICE like Assassin, Tollbooth and even Inazuma, you can:
a) play your own powerful current in ELP
b) tax clicks tremendously.
c) use Nisei MK2 to score safely.

All the while, you’re not giving up playing Caprice/Batty for the matchups where they matter.

2 Likes

I’ve been messing about with Hard Hitting News, Prisec and Closed Accounts in HB - the latter can make pretty huge scoring windows for HB remotes, and you can usually surprise people with HHN or Prisec (running the remote last click against HB is a not uncommon behaviour). But it’s probably only good against people who don’t know what you’re doing, and once you’re putting all that in your deck, it’s very hard to justify not just building an NBN deck instead.