[motherboard] What Will it Take For Netrunner to Be Played Like Professional Esports?

8 Likes

This is something I think about frequently. I have no background in card games. My competitive experience comes from Quake 3 and Starcraft 2. I see a lot of similarities in the current Netrunner community and the e-sports community before the big explosion in popularity that happened with SC2 and then LoL. I think there is definitely something here that can appeal to a broader community but it’s possible there are too many barriers of entry compared to e-sports which mainly require a time investment. Will be interesting to see what happens with the game in the next 2-3 years.

3 Likes

Nice little read on the current state of our competitive scene. I for one am excited at the prospect of attending more ANRPC events and the like, and moving our community a bit away from FFG’s coddling :stuck_out_tongue:

One of the big differences this article points at between netrunner and other competetive scenes (he mentions a variety of e-sports, but fails, I think, to mention the MtG scene) is the amount of money available to be won (or at least the cash value of the prizes). I think this is a really good metric to look at for e-sports, but I always have to wonder, where does the money come from?

Some examples, like LoL and MtG seem pretty obvious: the primary and secondary markets stand to gain quite a bit from excited players who will buy more and more the more events they go to/spectate/read about etc., so of course sponsoring these kind of events makes sense. While it may have been avid fanbases that really drove the creation of these competitive scenes, it’s clear that it would have been an easy sell to “the boys upstairs” when it comes to sponsoring prize pools.