No Rumors: Playing Without The Mill

I started playing the game after Rumor Mill was printed. I never experienced the game without it.

I see almost everyone saying slot Political Operative as an answer to assets and upgrades.

I’ve heard some mention of Interdiction.

I even heard someone pitch Unregistered S&W.

What are the best options for dealing with the cards Rumor Mill no longer blanks?

Pol Op. Interdiction and U S&W is clunkier to get going but a better counter overall

Oh, in case it was me that pitched Unregistered S&W, I apologize. That was a joke.

While Interdiction and Councilman do make the gun a bit less unwieldy (you no longer need to run a remote, see them rez Caprice, run HQ, fire the gun, run the remote, which takes five clicks), it’s still just not good enough, not to mention is less flexible than Pol Op, only hitting a fraction of cards you need to deal with.

There are other options that deal with unique assets and upgrades a little less directly. Consider:

• Account Siphon
  • Vamp
  • Efficient R&D multiaccesses
  • Slums and Archive Interface to prevent Friends recursion
5 Likes

It was actually someone on Ben Ni’s MWL video who mentioned it two or three times.

1 Like

Make bank, clean out scoring remote and centrals of assets/protective upgrades before they become hideously taxing.

3 Likes

No better time to learn to psi than now. :wink:

5 Likes

Yeah, just get better at psi. I find it a lot more exhilarating to be kicking ass at psi than it is disheartening to be losing. It’s worth thinking about game state and past behavior and then bluff or counter bluff from there. I don’t think most people roll a die and do what it says.

Obviously you’ve got other upgrades, but we all know Caprice is what it’s all about.

2 Likes

Government Investigations.

1 Like

Blackmail in, trash the Ash, sot Blackmail… oh… wait…

2 Likes