Novice impressions of Corp versus Runner

Dear all

I started playing ANR very recently (a few weeks back) and am enjoying it immensely.

One thing I have experienced in this time (50+ games) is that it seems far easier for the Corporation to win. In my games, even when I played superior opponents, I was often able to win with the Corporation, quite reliably, but not with the Runner.

I started with Jinteki PE, after a few games I got the hang of it and was winning most of the time. Jinteki RP was harder to learn, I lost every one of the first few games- but after that (once I saw my friend use the deck well) I got the hang of it and very seldom lost (the only subsequent loss I can recall was to Leela where she got off to an absolutely flying start). This deck seemed much harder to beat than PE and less reliant on gambling.

After this I tried, NBN butcher shop; again, the Runner was only winning (early) when I got a dreadful opening hand. However, I would say that this deck seemed more variable than the Jinteki decks. And perhaps a careful Runner could avoid death and beat it. With Weyland scorch, again, one small mistake and the Runner immediately loses.

On the Runner side, I tried Reina Headlock, Andromeda and a little Maxx. In all cases the game felt more random, with a need to get decent cards and economy early on. In addition, even if ahead early on, one small mistake could throw the game.

I would like to know your views, is the Corporation stronger overall right now? Or perhaps I am just much better at running the Corporation side and need more practice as the Runner? Or, maybe this is the typical novice experience? I saw a study of OCTGN results that concluded that the Runner is better at high skill levels- but does that apply with today’s card pool? I guess the study results were taken from all games from outset, and I heard that in the early stages of the game the Runner had a huge advantage.

Thanks a lot for your views on this!