Official Rules Question Thread

You still gain one credit for the duration of the run?

And if you already had a BP then played Corporate Scandal, you’d still only get 1 credit?

No you’d get two. The text states “The Corp has 1 additional bad publicity”, so it’s a little different from Paparazzi in that sense (which just states you’re tagged) - the corp is at all times considered to have one more BP than it actually currently has.

4 Likes

Okay, that’s what I thought. Comparing it to Paparazzi made me question my understanding.

yes, this is my understanding, thanks for phrasing it in a more comprehensible way :smiley:

[quote=“jakodrako, post:2047, topic:1437, full:true”]
What indeed
[/quote]is there some disagreement about this card? It seems like a pretty straightforward parallel to paparazzi (though obviously a bit different as mentioned by @OctopusRex) but maybe I’m missing something?

Because it does not say “considered to have”, it is unclear how any situations involving the removal of bad pub resolve

ahh, I can see that now. I guess I was just inferring; I think the parenthetical about “even when the corp has 0” strongly implies that it works like paparazzi (ie; is never gained, can’t be removed) but you make a good point that literally interpreted from the card text it isn’t clear which way it should go.

Question: If you play Targeted Marketing and name a current (like employee strike), do you get the payout from Targeted Marketing before it is trashed or is it trashed before it pays out?

Yeah it’s a good question as ‘until…’ is not exactly ‘when…’ in netrunner, but it’s been covered in the FAQ it seems:

“26 Targeted Marketing
The Corp can choose to gain 10 credits when the Runner
plays a current that trashes Targeted Marketing (if the current
was named when Targeted Marketing was played).”

2 Likes

Thanks!

For the upcoming spoiled card Mumbad Virtual Tour, if it is accessed by Whizzard, and he has between 2 and 4 credits (plus his recurring credits), does he have to trash it? If a runner has <5 credits and an Imp+counters installed, do they have to use their Imp?

Yes! It also means you must trash it if you have spare Ghost Runner credits lying around. Muhaha!

I don’t think they have to use an Imp counter, because Imp doesn’t let them trash something until after the access step has finished (and the Tour’s text is no longer active).

1 Like

Because MVT does not specify “by paying its trash cost” it can force an Imp

4 Likes

Is Genetics Pavilion retroactive? As in, can a runner click to draw twice (or just have wyldside out), run an unrezzed komainu where I rez both the ice and GP to have those three IHW in hand not fire? Text says “The runner cannot draw more than 2 cards during his or her turn.” I’m thinking perhaps not, but once rezzed it could(?) look back to see if the runner has already drawn two cards this turn… or not, in which case would prevent the runner from drawing two cards beyond the point in time of the rez.

Related question: GP with Hostile Infrastructure installed. Trash GP to trigger Hostile would NOT restrict an IHW (if hit with hostile net damage) as the GP is trashed by the time the Hostile triggers?

Compare it to Symmetrical Visage. If you draw it, play it, then draw, you don’t get the credit because you already had a “first” draw (despite that draw being before Symmetrical Visage was in play). Similarly, a rezzed Genetics Pavilion doesn’t let the runner draw any more once they’ve drawn 2 cards in a turn. Cards can view game state prior to them being active.

Hostile Infrastructure is a triggered effect, so happens after the trigger (trashing). If it were a cost, it would happen before the effect.

Genetics Pavilion references the count for the turn, not when it is rezzed. The best time to rez it is when they have already drawn two cards!

(Just think, if Enhanced Login Protocol came into play halfway through a turn (e.g. New Angeles Sol) and the Runner had already made a run, would the next run be affected by Enhanced Logic Protocol since it’s the first one ELP “saw”? No, it references the turn: what has happened in the turn is important, not what happened since the card was active.)

Great! That’s exactly what I wanted to hear! :japanese_ogre:

This is what I thought too, just wanted to be 100% sure as I consider bringing IG to a SC next month.

So, I know you can legally search your stack and fail to find a target. The question came up today, though, if it is legal to “search your stack” if you are out of cards in it entirely.

Basically, I had Artist Colony out, and wanted to sell some News Teams to win the game. However, I didn’t have a stack left (artist colony was the literal last card). It ended up not mattering, because I was able to install it, Levy, and then use it three times, but if I wasn’t able to, is there still a legal way for me to search a deck that literally isn’t there any more?

2 Likes

I would personally say you can’t search an empty stack, but I have no precedent to cite. I would pose the question to Damon.

Also, minor point: you can’t choose to fail to find ever. If you can find something fulfilling a search, them you must find it. What Artist Colony allows you to do is search for something that can’t be installed (because the search criteria is just “card”) and shuffle the found card away without installing it (an event or a second console, for example). You aren’t failing to find in this case, you’re just finding something that the rest of the ability can’t do anything with but shuffle away.

4 Likes

You should be able to do this, as your stack does not cease to exist when it’s empty, it’s just empty. Otherwise Levy would not work with an empty stack. I might be wrong but I could not find a ruling that states otherwise.

Ah, thanks! Was wrong about the failure to find; that’ll be useful in future games. For some reason I thought that it was okay to seach for something you didn’t want – example: search your deck with SMC) and then decide that nah, you don’t want any of the things you can install. Maybe I was getting it confused with searching for something and then finding you are unable to install it – example, as in the SMC scenario above, but with you on 0 credits after the SMC trigger and no 0-cost programs in the stack).

Either way, good to know. Also good to know I played it correctly today, despite my misunderstanding. Used Levy to reshuffle R&D, then used Artist Colony to go find 2 SMCs and a Same Old Thing to burn away the News Teams.