I have Maya and Personal Workshop installed. Can I host Maya on Workshop? Can I install Maya, trashing either itself or the other Maya? If Maya can’t be installed, can you remove counters, or the last counter, from it? Would the ruling on this be different if it was unique but not a console?
You can host Maya on Workshop
You cannot install a console if you already have a console installed, but nothing stops you from removing PW counters
iirc if a console ticks off of PW in that situation it just goes straight to your heap, just like Parasite with no rezzed ice
Page 8 of the FAQ
Sorry if already answered but couldn’t find it.
How does “bypassing” and Archangel interact?. Let’s say I play an Inside Job to an undefended R&D and hit an Archangel on top. Do I bypass it?. Same question with Nexus on play.
The more likely scenario is that you Inside Job with one unrezzed ICE and the Corp declines to rez due to the limited value. But yeah, interesting question.
Let’s read the cards! (I don’t mean this sarcastically, many similar cards have slightly different triggers/conditions)
Inside Job says:
Make a run. Bypass the first piece of ice encountered during this run.
Archangel says
If you pay 3 when the Runner accesses Archangel, he or she immediately encounters it. Ignore this ability if Archangel is accessed from Archives.
If the corp pays 3c, the Archangel is then encountered. If assuming there was no ICE encountered previously, during this run, then Archangel will be bypassed.
In other words, don’t bother spending the 3c because it’s pointless.
not if it’s a big medium dig!
Can Same Old Thing be used to fulfill the requirements of Always be Running that the first click must be sent on a run or run event by trashing it to use a run event in the trash?
I’m gonna say no. In the same way the you can’t Same Old Thing a priority event, because the first click is spent using Same Old Thing and not making a run / playing a priority.
What?
I’m Adam and a makers eye is in the trash. Does using Same Old Thing for the makers eye fulfill the requirement that my first click is spent on a run or run event?
No. that would be spending your first click on activating a resource.
If you could also provide a brief explanation of why I cannot do this but I can use a click ability on a program to fulfill it (such as with sneak door) it would be appreciated.
With Sneakdoor you pay a click to make a run, albeit a special one.
With Same Old Thing you pay clicks to play an event.
The spent clicks need to initiate a run, not trigger something else (that triggers something else, that triggers…) that initiates a run.
Always be running says your first click has to initiate a run, or be a run event.
With same old thing, you’re creating a A to B to C situation, where the step B is a click spent on something that’s not a run event, or initiating a run, even though its resolution does result in a run event getting played. That to me doesn’t fit the criteria written on Always Be Running.
You’d need at least one more archangel in R&D, so that they bypass the first one, then have to encounter the second one.
What about when you play an event from hand? You’re not initiating a run then either. Instead you’re activating the ability “click: play an event”.
Question inspired from a dumb reddit argument, but is related to something I’ve been wondering about.
The dumb argument was about Early Bird + Ruhr Valley. Someone was suggesting you could Early Bird a Ruhr Valley server, decline to play the additional cost, but still gain the click. A silly thing to do, to be sure, but is it legal?
I felt like it was pretty obviously “No”, since, by declining the additional cost, the cost to resolve the card’s effect was not paid, so the card would not resolve at all. But they were arguing that the additional cost part only applied to the run portion of the card, and not the gaining of a click, so you could still play Early Bird on that server and regain the click without running. The ANCUR Twitter seems to agree with them, though I still feel unsatisfied.
This question brings me back to something I’ve been confused on for a long time, and that is effects that say “Do X and Y”, particularly if I’m able to do X but not Y, or if I’m able to do Y but not X. The question is "If an effect tells me to do two things in the same clause but I can only resolve one of them, can the effect resolve with me only doing one of those things?"
We already know about partially resolvable effects, such as Diesel with 1 or 2 cards in your stack, but all the examples of partially resolvable effects that I could find all have to do with single effects, such as drawing a certain number of cards or making a run. We know you can’t play Diesel if your stack is empty, nor can you play Archived Memories on an empty Archives.
Examples:
- Can I click Professional Contacts if my heap is empty in order to still gain a credit?
- Suppose I run using Out Of The Ashes at the beginning of my turn, and I run though an Excalibur that fires. Can I play Early Bird, not run, and still gain the click?
- Can I play Lawyer Up when my stack is empty?
I feel like I’ve seen contradictory rulings on this, namely in two recent UFAQs.
Q. Can I use Artist Colony to search for a card that I’m unable to install (either because it’s an Event or because I can’t afford the install cost)?
A. Yes, because Artist Colony doesn’t restrict which card you search for. If you can’t install the card, though, it will just get shuffled back into your stack.
Q. After the Runner uses EMP Device, the Corp rezzes Howler. Can Howler’s subroutine still install a bioroid behind itself? Is the Howler still trashed?
A. No. The Corp must both install and rez the new bioroid ice, so Howler’s ability cannot be resolved because the Corp cannot rez any more pieces of ice.
Artist Colony says to “search your stack for a card and install it”, and Howler says to “install and rez a piece of bioroid ICE”. In the case of Artist Colony, I can use it in such a way that even though I am unable to resolve the second half of the card, I can still resolve the first half. But with Howler + EMP Device, even though I’m able to resolve one part of the effect, I’m not allowed to resolve either effect since I can’t resolve the second part.
So, what gives? Is this a contradiction, or am I missing a fundamental difference here? In general, when can I resolve part of a 2-part effect, and when does my inability to resolve one part of a 2-part effect prevent me from resolving the whole effect?
Yeah that Howler ruling seems whack.