Official Rules Question Thread

yes. a successful SDB is treated in every way as a successful hq run.[quote=“PaxCecilia, post:2755, topic:1437”]
What happens from a rules perspective when the runner spends clicks to break bioroid subroutines? Is that a paid ability?
[/quote]

I believe so, yes. Subs can only be broken during encounters(see also: using icebreakers outside an encounter) so this paid ability has a pretty limited window to be used.

1 Like

If Councilman is used to derez Lily Lockwell, does the corp still draw the cards before she is de-rezzed?

As a follow up question, does it count as a paid ability “on a non-icebreaker card”? The paid ability isn’t literally printed on the card, but it seems like spending a click to break a subroutine is a paid ability. The reason I ask is because of Navi Mumbad City Grid:

During a run on this server, the Runner cannot use paid abilities on non-icebreaker cards.

ie. can you click through bioroids with Navi Mumbad City Grid rezzed?

Breaking subs on a bioroid is not a paid ability. A paid ability needs to have the cost: effect structure strictly. I believe we had this conversation before somewhere in this thread. Not sure what it is, exactly.

4 Likes

ah, now that I understand the context I think I want to roll back on that answer. @CJFM is correct that paid abilities are limited to the cost:effect structure for purposes of other cards. The bioroid abilities are a bit nebulous on this (as they funtion just like a paid ability in a practical sense) but definitely wouldn’t be restricted by navi so I was probably wrong to call them a paid ability.

2 Likes

It would be pretty busted if you could shut off the bioroid click ability with Navi. I wish it worked that way :wink:

2 Likes

only if the corp rezzes it on their turn (so that their triggers go first)

2 Likes

the FAQ says on page 3:

Triggering Actions and Abilities
A player can only trigger an action or ability if its effect has the potential to change the game state. This potential is assessed without taking into account the consequences of paying play, install, or rez costs or triggering any further abilities.

and on page 4:

Using Icebreakers
The Runner can boost the strength of his icebreakers outside of an encounter with a piece of ice. However, unless the icebreaker says otherwise, its strength is immediately reset to its previous value.

so, is it possible for the runner to activate an ICE-breaker in the corps turn?? (without being on a run or encountering an ICE or anything like this)

just for the sake of paying the cost for increasing the ICE-breakers strength
without anything else happening than “the runner pays the cost”

This is allowed because there is an effect: the icebreaker gains strength, which is considered a change of game state. It’s just that with the current cardpool there is never any practical reason to do this (besides dumping credits, such as before you encounter a tollbooth).

edit: [quote=“meh, post:2765, topic:1437, full:true”]
Don’t forget trashing clot from your hand by boosting the strength of Faust, meaning you can then clone chip it!
[/quote]great point, apparently I’m too deep into BB45 to remember that faust exists. There are a number of practical scenarios to boost faust outside of an encounter.

1 Like

Don’t forget trashing clot from your hand by boosting the strength of Faust, meaning you can then clone chip it!

1 Like

Step 2.3 of a run says

Approached ice can be rezzed, [paid ability window symbol] [non-ice cards can be rezzed symbol]

Does this mean that first the corp can rez the approached ice and then there is a subsequent window, or is rezzing the ice just a the things the corp can do while they have “paid ability window priority”?

This question may seem pedantic, but it makes a big difference sometimes (e.g. Political Operative vs Caprice on a server where the last piece of ice is unrezzed).

Rezzing is part of the paid ability window. Meaning if you’re still in that window, you can still rez ice. That’s why a derezzed TMI could be re-rezzed if the runner beats the trace.

1 Like

Yes, Approach (2.1 and 2.3) has paid ability windows. Only the second one (2.3), allows ICE and other cards to be rezzed by the corp. The runner has priority, then the corp. The window is only closed once both players have passed, or another effect has ended the encounter.

Approach is followed by Encounter, which has a paid ability window at 3.1. There is only a paid ability window at 3.1, which does not allow for any cards to be rezzed. ICE is passed at 3.2 (after subroutines resolve), which means Caprice has to already be rezzed before then.

No, the corp can only rez at the paid ability window at 2.3.

If a political operative is used at 3.1 to trash Caprice while encountering the last piece of ICE on a server, there is no window to rez another Caprice before the last piece of ICE is passed.

After the last piece of ICE is passed, the server is approached (section 4). There is a paid ability window where no cards can be rezzed at 4.1. At 4.2, the runner decides to continue the run or jack out. At 4.3 there is another paid ability window when cards can be rezzed, but at this point the runner can no longer choose to jack out. Marcus Batty could be rezzed and activated at 4.3, but it is too late for Caprice.

@BubbaTheGoat I should have been more clear with my question. Obviously ice can only be rezzed at 2.3 and plop at 3.1 beats Caprice; my question was regarding how exactly rezzing ice within step 2.3 works (because the answer affects how plop vs Caprice works when the last piece of ice in the server is not rezzed).

@CJFM I am not totally convinced that that is implied by the TMI ruling. It could be that rezzing ice happens before the paid ability window, and you just get multiple opportunities within that window. But my guess would be that you are correct and rezzing ice is treated like just another paid ability to trigger.

1 Like

If I Paintbrush a Komainu to make it a barrier and then run through it with no cards in hand and Ankusa installed, can I bounce the Komainu? I know breaking all zero subs counts as breaking all of them- could I have broken all zero with Ankusa?

Ankusa specifically says “If you use Ankusa to break all subroutines…” so I’m pretty sure that doesn’t work.

3 Likes

Ah, my bad, sorry for the long reply to the wrong question. This is a much more interesting question.

Looking at the timing chart, there is approach at 2.1 and 2,3 when the ICE gets rezzed. The runner has priority at 2.3, if they pass, then the corp can rez and use abilities. If the corp also passes, then the window is closed and the run proceeds to 2.4.

Once we get to 2.4, the (unrezzed) ICE is passed, and Caprice would trigger. From this interpretation, the runner would have to trash Caprice with Political Operative at 2.3, which would allow to corp to rez the ICE being approached in response.

I don’t see any other interpretation based on the timing description from ancur:

We can ask @jakodrako if I’ve missed something, because I have made mistakes in the past.

@Crunchums
Others can let me know if I’m incorrect, but the way I’ve always looked at step 2.3 is as follows:

  • Step 2.3 (a) - Approached ice can be rezzed;
  • Step 2.3 (b) - Active player’s paid ability window (non ice cards can be rezzed, paid abilities can be triggered);
  • Step 2.3 © - In-active player’s paid ability window (non ice cards can be rezzed, paid abilities can be triggered);

The paid ability window then gets passed back and forth until one player declines and both have had a chance to act.

I think the rezzing of ice and the paid ability windows at step 2.3 are separate.
So there is no window to re-rez TMI, in which paid ablility windows are passed back and forth.

Sorry was battling an infant when I replied, and didn’t adequately read your post. Sorry about that. Yeah, all of the things are separate things that can be done, but any one or any number can be taken during a player’s window to act. But you can re-rez TMI because you’re still in the window. There is no a, b, c, part of the step. If you’re in 2.3, you’re in 2.3 and can do any of those things.

For example, you can rez Caprice before or after you rez your ice. Because the runner has the first priority, they do something, then the corp. It doesn’t matter what you do, as long as you do one of those things (rez or paid ability). Thus, you can Fire batty on approach, then rez your ice if it fails.

1 Like

No worries mate. I didn’t know about the TMI FAQ ruling.

17 TMI
• TMI can be rezzed multiple times while the Runner
approaches it. Timing structure of a run 2.3 is a window that
allows the approached piece of ice to be rezzed. There is no
limit to the number of times a Corp can rez an approached
piece of ice if it is derezzed during this window.

My only question would be, after the corp rezzes ice, who’s priority window is it? Is it still the corps, because they rez ice and can do whatever they want, or is it the runner’s if they’re the active player?

Situation for me would be when rezzing ice and rezzing say “Corporate Troubleshooter”.
When is the last window ideally for the Corp to boost CT against say, Mimic+Datasucker or Clonechip/Atman?