Official Rules Question Thread

Just need a ruling from someone in the know. Runner on three cards, Muertos installed. Corp neural EMP’s down to two cards, then rez and fire Ronin for the kill. Can you Muertos after the rez before the Ronin fires to draw back up to three and stay alive?

The way I’m reading it is you have to rez the Ronin in window after clicking to Neural, which means the runner can then Muertos.

Yes.

1 Like

I believe it depends on how the Corp handles its actions. There are two ways to handle it. The good way and the bad way (for the Corp).

The bad way:

Action 1 - Neural EMP
Same paid ability window - rez Ronin
Corp passes window for runner action (Muertos)
Runner passes window
Action 2 - Fire Ronin

The good way:

Action 1 - Neural EMP
Corp passes ability window
Runner actions (Muertos if you suspect Ronin)
Runner passes window
Corp rezzes Ronin
Action 2 - Fire Ronin (same window as the rez)

Basically the Corp cannot move on with his turn until the runner passes all windows after the corp finishes his first action window. So it would be silly to rez Ronin there, because he can’t take that click until after the runner passes. It would be smart to wait until the runner passes his window (thus opening the window for click 2 for the Corp), and the Corp then rez and fire Ronin - the runner gets no reaction in this case, because this is all the same window.

I may be incorrect in this, but I believe this is correct.

Does the window not get passed back to the runner? In general, don’t they pass actions until noone has any more? In your 2nd example the corp would rez Ronin on 2.1, right? I think the runner also gets an action. And if both pass in one ability window the window will be closed.

2 Likes

I think that because Ronin requires a ‘click’, there is a paid ability window between rez and clicking it.

5 Likes

You are. A player cannot take a click action right after using a paid ability, without the window passing to the other player first.

4 Likes

Yeah that’s exactly where I ended up on this one.

OK, I didn’t realize…

…this was the way it was handled. Sorry for the misinformation!

1 Like

Also, unless I’ve been playing wrong for 2 years, windows do NOT pass back and forth. Within a single window the active player resolves all paid abilities in any order they want, then ‘priority’ is passed to the inactive player for resolution in any order they choose.

3 Likes

It’s passed back and forth in the sense that each player does as much as they want, then the other player gets to do as much as they want, and then back again until both players have declined to act consecutively.

3 Likes

this is true- good catch! should have said “the run then immediately continues as though the runner had just passed ICE at that position (after any open paid ability window closes).”

I think the result I describe is still the same, though; once the window where the ice was destroyed closes, you simply continue as if you’d just passed an ICE at the destroyed ICE’s position.

They don’t need to decline consecutively, the window closes as soon as someone passes once both players have had at least 1 chance to act. So if I do stuff, then you do stuff, then I pass it ends before you have another chance to do stuff.

3 Likes

Yeah, the upshot of that difference is that you don’t have an opportunity to wait and see if your opponent has no reaction before taking another action.

1 Like

Yes, good catch!

The option for the runner to take a Tag on Snatch and Grab - is it “take 1 tag to stop the trace from being initiated” or “take 1 tag to prevent the connection from being trashed now that you’ve lost the trace” ?

Trace succeeds, then the runner can take a tag to prevent the connection from being trashed.

2 Likes

When I use Allele Repression’s trash ability, can one of the cards I return to HQ be Allele Repression?

1 Like

Yes. First pay costs, then perform effects.

Like Street Peddler you mean?

I’m joking, I’m joking! Put down the pitchforks. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Speaking of Street Peddler, here is another question :

Can I use it if I cannot install any cards hosted on it ? (For exemple, if there is 3 event on it.)
The FAQ says : You cannot trigger an action or ability if the effect would not create a change in game state.
Lukas also said : If it does not change the game state in any way (other than the card itself, obviously, being trashed) then it cannot be played.

But is trashing 3 more cards considered a change of the game state ?