Wanted: A Mr. Miyagi

I’m a noob. I am still learning tons of things about the game. I keep walking into Jinteki and getting wrecked by all these mean boys from over at the Cobra Kai Dojo. Like Daniel LaRusso, I keep getting beat and I’m not sure what to do about it.

What I need is a Netrunner Mr. Miyagi.

So here is your chance.

Distill your best training and teaching rules for Noobs. What are the fundamentals that a Noob needs to develop to build a foundation for more success down the road?

Like Myagi, I cannot teach you these things with words. You must experience them to know their true meaning.

That means playing. Lots. Playing with the intent of understanding.

On the Corp side:
Play a NEXT or Titan Rush deck, with few options besides scoring out. Play it until you win. Learn to trust your ICE.
Play a Replicating Perfection deck, to help you recognise scoring windows. (The scoring windows with RP tend to be big and obvious, so it’s a good start.)
Play a HB never-advance deck, to learn what it truly means to “tax out” a runner.
Play some kind of PE deck, to understand the subtle mindgames that go into Netrunner. Play it until you understand why you won or lost certain games.

On the Runner side:
Play Adam. He’ll show you the meaning of aggression, like no runner before him. Learn not to be afraid, and more importantly, learn when to hold back.
Play a Siphon-spam deck. They’ll show you what economic pressure can do, and how to exploit holes in the corps strategies.
Play a Nexus-Kate or Sunny deck, or even Panopticon Haley. They will teach you how to win the long game versus any Corp, and how to properly camp remotes.