Web-based game engine: good or bad idea?

I recently bought the game and after only a few games I’m already hooked.

Since I’m a noob and a developer, I figured that I could create a web-based game engine to

• learn about all the rules of the game
  • be able to play with people from all over the world (unfortunately there’s not much people I can play with where I live)

But, from what I gathered, there seems to be issues regarding IP… :frowning:

So, my question: is building a free web-based android:netrunner game engine worth the trouble or will I be forced to take it down?

1 Like

Do you know about OCTGN platform? http://www.octgn.net/

Yes I do. Even though I’ve never tried it, I’ve seen a bunch of screencasts of people using it and I feel we can do better.

NOTE: I’m not judging db0’s amazing work on the ANR plugin at all. I just feel like the limitations of OCTGN platform prevent us (developers) from delivering a great user experience.

2 Likes

I agree. While db0 does a really great job with his plugin, the actual OCTGN program itself is lacking in many ways, and the OCTGN devs have shown a really hostile attitude to the community.

I would be interested in seeing a strong web implementation, but I would estimate a fairly high probability that Fantasy Flight asks you to take it down.

FFG does however turn blind eye to OCTGN, and I have heard these possible reasons why:

• Censored cards for the first 6 months after they get released.
  • OCTGN is a “generic” platform that can play any game.

I would consider sending an email to FFG and asking if there are any limitations that would make it acceptable before starting.

2 Likes

I made the prototype in your second link. I had contacted FFG in Dec 2012 but they never replied about it (which I take to mean “no it’s not okay”) and I eventually had other priorities and found OCTGN to be good enough for the time being despite the limitations of the platform.